King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor

Andy Riley

See more book details

Hodder Children's Books

9781444933604
5100
Synopsis

"Edwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything."

Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin's kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants' unhappiness to his advantage!

When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it's time to come up with the first sneaky plan he's ever had in his life ...

In the media
With illustrations and hearty laughs on every page, this is sure to keep readers in stitches.

Carrie Morris The Best New Children's Books Guide

...a brisk, bumptious read, full of preposterous names, surreal imagery and daft sound effects.

James Lovegrove Financial Times

There are no libraries or books in King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor, written and drawn by Bunny Suicides author Andy Riley (Hachette), but this funny story does feature many other things that will appeal, especially to early and reluctant readers - not least an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates.

Michelle Pauli The Guardian : Saturday Review

Features an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates

The Guardian