Girlhood

Cat Clarke

10-12 years
See more book details
04 May 2017
9781784292737
384 pages
Synopsis

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Jandy Nelson, Paula Hawkins, and Megan Abbott.

'Emotive, creepy AND funny. A quality page-turner' SARAH CROSSAN

'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet' JUNO DAWSON

Harper has tried to forget the past and fit in at expensive boarding school Duncraggan Academy. Her new group of friends are tight; the kind of girls who Harper knows have her back. But Harper can't escape the guilt of her twin sister's Jenna's death, and her own part in it - and she knows noone else will ever really understand.

But new girl Kirsty seems to get Harper in ways she never expected. She has lost a sister too. Harper finally feels secure. She finally feels...loved. As if she can grow beyond the person she was when Jenna died.

Then Kirsty's behaviour becomes more erratic. Why is her life a perfect mirror of Harper's? And why is she so obsessed with Harper's lost sister? Soon, Harper's closeness with Kirsty begins to threaten her other relationships, and her own sense of identity.

How can Harper get back to the person she wants to be, and to the girls who mean the most to her?

A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief.

A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet

Juno Dawson

An emotionally charged, edge-of-your-seat thriller. Tension builds to a jaw-dropping crescendo as truths are revealed, loyalties are tested, and a whole lot of understanding is needed. Gripping and gratifyingly multi-layered, fans of thrillers with emotional depth will find much to love here

LoveReading4Kids

Well-written and insightful ... the story moves at a roaring pace until it reaches a thrilling and ultimately uplifting conclusion ... an easy book to get lost in

The Bookbag