The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse

See more book details

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

9781510200791
320
Synopsis

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.

Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .

There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.

Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

In the media
This tale about a teenage road trip makes ideal holiday reading.

Sunday Express

The atmospheric descriptions of the places they visit (and drink in), such as Amsterdam, Prague, and Florence, and the nuanced characterizations lend expansiveness to a plot that might otherwise have become a simple coming-of-age romance... A transformative odyssey of self-discovery

Kirkus Reviews

Readers who enjoy art history are in for treat with this book. The story's setting takes on the part of a sixth character and gives worn tropes a fresh new spin. Older teens will relate to Rae and Aubrey as they are likely making some of the same life choices. The emotions play out perfectly with the backdrop of romantic monuments, gritty bars, and elegant cafes.

SLJ

Praise for Seven Days of You: How hard am I crushing on Seven Days Of You? I'm crying, laughing, aching, and squealing all at once. I would live in this book if I could

Becky Albertalli, author of SIMON VS THE HOMOSAPIENS AGENDA