Journey to the River Sea

Eva Ibbotson

2002 Short-listed

Whitbread Children's Book Award

2001 Winner

Nestlé Smarties Book Prize Gold Award

2001 Short-listed

The CILIP Carnegie Medal

See more book details

Macmillan Children's Books


An Amazon adventure set in the wilderness of Brazil, Journey to the River Sea is filled with mystery and memorable characters.

It is 1910 and Maia, tragically orphaned at thirteen, has been sent from England to start a new life with distant relatives in Manaus, hundreds of miles up the Amazon. She is accompanied by an eccentric and mysterious governess who has secret reasons of her own for making the journey. Both soon discover an exotic world bursting with new experiences in Journey to the River Sea, Eva Ibbotson's highly colourful, joyous adventure.

This 15th anniversary edition includes a forward by Lauren St John, author of The White Giraffe.

Winner of the Smarties Gold Medal.
Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Award.