The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Heather Morris

Age 14 +
23 May 2019
9781471408496
304 pages

Synopsis

Young Adult edition - including new foreword and Q+A by the author plus further additional material

The incredible bestselling true story. For readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Diary of Anne Frank

Heart-breaking - a tale of love and survival amidst the horrors of Auschwitz
Human - the real story behind one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust - the blue numbers tattooed on prisoners' arms
Inspirational - the very best of humanity in the very worst of circumstances
Unforgettable - a story untold for over seventy years is finally shared
Life-affirming - one man's determination to survive and live a full life with the woman he loved
Fully verified - Lale Sokolov's background and story has been fact-checked against all available documentary evidence

The Story

The Tattooist of Auschwitz is based on the true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who survived Auschwitz. When Lale, given the job of tattooing the prisoners, saw Gita waiting in line, it was love at first sight. In that moment he determined to keep them both alive. This is a story of hope and of courage.
Extraordinary - moving, confronting and uplifting . . . a story about the extremes of human behaviour: calculated brutality alongside impulsive and selfless acts of love. I recommend it unreservedly
What an extraordinary and important book this is. A moving and ultimately uplifting story of love, loyalties and friendship amidst the horrors of war
a sincere...moving attempt to speak the unspeakable