The Clifton Chronicles: Volumes 1 & 2

Jeffrey Archer

See more book details



The Clifton Chronicles tells the epic story of two intertwined families, the Cliftons and the Barringtons, told over one hundred years.

Only Time Will Tell and The Sins of the Father, the first two volumes in the Clifton Chronicles – Jeffrey Archer's most ambitious work in four decades as an international bestselling author – are brought together in The Clifton Chronicles 1 & 2.

The tale of Harry Clifton's life begins in 1919, in Bristol. His father was a war hero, but it will be twenty-one tumultuous years before Harry discovers the truth about how his father really died and if, in fact, he even was his father. When he goes to school, he meets Giles Barrington, soon to become his best friend, and Giles's sister, Emma. From that moment, the two families will be forever entwined.

Taking a cast of memorable characters from the ravages of the Great War through to the end of the Second World War, family loyalties are stretched to their limits as secrets unravel, and the story moves from the backstreets of Bristol to the boardrooms of Manhattan.

In Jeffrey Archer's masterful hands, you will be taken on a journey that you won't want to end, filled with gasp-making twists and turns. Discover the spellbinding family saga that has enthralled readers across the world and sold over five million copies.

This spellbinding saga continues in Best Kept Secret.

In the media
I guarantee that anyone who takes this book from the shelves will not be able to put it down

Jerry Hayes Spectator

Archer is on top form

Daily Telegraph

Probably the greatest storyteller of our age

Mail on Sunday