When the Mountains Roared

Jess Butterworth

6-9 years
See more book details
05 April 2018
9781510102118
288 pages
Synopsis

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

I thought we'd live here forever ... but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too.

When Ruby's dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home - not without her mum there.

Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up.

But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them - if she can only overcome her fears...

Jess Butterworth's love for the landscape and the animals she describes shines through, creating an immersive world for Ruby and the reader to explore and fall in love with.

Sarah Mallon, The Scotsman

I can see this book becoming a classroom staple for more than the mesmerising snapshots of India. The determined characters who persevere, who show a growing independence of mind to overcome difficulties and strive to achieve a goal by working together, all while being part of a spellbinding story, make this a must-have book for every classroom of 9- to 12-year olds.

Times Educational Supplement

Jess Butterworth's love for the landscape and the animals she describes shines through, creating an immersive world for Ruby and the reader to explore and fall in love with.

The Scotsman