Little Whale

Jo Weaver

See more book details

Hodder Children's Books

9781444937497
32
Synopsis

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.

Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home.

With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC's Blue Planet.

Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

In the media
all depicted in stunning charcoal drawings in grey and blue... really makes you feel you are deep in the ocean.

Sarah Brew Parents in Touch

beautiful picture book, with dreamlike, almost monochrome illustrations

Bookwitch blog

Little Whale by Jo Weaver is a gorgeous, grown-up migration story, shadowy charcoal drawings evoking every ripple of the great whales' world.

Guardian

Evocative charcoal drawings bring the underwater world to stunning life; fans of Blue Planet will be mesmerised.

The Bookseller