Available for pre-order

Girl in the Rearview Mirror

Kelsey Rae Dimberg

See more book details

Macmillan

9781509895816
384
Synopsis

A twisty, page-turning debut thriller from Kelsey Rae Dimberg, Girl in the Rearview Mirror is a story about privilege and power, family and obligation, ambition and complicity, and the pull of the past on the present; perfect for fans of Jane Harper's The Lost Man and Chris Hammer's Scrubland.

Desperate to put her past in the rearview mirror, Finn Hunt leaves the Midwest for Phoenix, Arizona, where no one knows her story.

While she’s working a dead-end job, a chance meeting with Philip Martin, son of a prominent US Senator, leads Finn to a position as nanny for Amabel, his precocious four-year-old daughter. Quickly seduced into the Martins’ privileged world, Finn can almost believe she belongs there, almost forget the dark past that haunts her.

Then, in the stifling heat of a desert summer as the Senator’s re-election looms, a strange woman begins to follow Finn, claiming a connection to Philip and threatening to expose the family to scandal. As Finn tries to protect Amabel, and shield the Martins, she’s inadvertently drawn deeper and deeper into their buried secrets.

The family trusts Finn, for now, but it will only take one mistake for everything she holds dear – the Martins’ world, her new life – to fall apart . . .

In the media
With hairpin twists and immense psychological acuity, Kelsey Rae Dimberg’s Girl in the Rearview Mirror is as seductive as the glamorous, privileged family at its center – and as cunning. An exciting, intoxicating debut, it will hold you until its startling final pages

Megan Abbott, bestselling author of Give Me Your Hand

I tore through Girl in the Rearview Mirror; it really is a truly accomplished debut. Kelsey Rae Dimberg has that rare ability to blend breakneck pace with razor-sharp characterization and shimmering, immersive prose. A charged, tense, highly emotional story that will stay with you long after you turn the last page

Caz Frear, author of Sweet Little Lies and Stone Cold Heart

Utterly compelling, this story reveals its secrets slowly and mysteriously under the sweltering sun of Arizona. A gripping story that expertly weaves domestic and political intrigue

Rosamund Lupton, bestselling author of Sister

Girl in the Rearview Mirror is as beguiling a tale as the famous family at its center. Kelsey Rae Dimberg’s briskly paced debut is both a mystery and a pointed portrait of wealth and privilege. It is a story of the thrill of stepping beneath the spotlight and the stark reckoning that awaits those who are cast out from beneath its glow

Meghan MacLean Weir, author of The Book of Essie