Bird Girl

Maudie Smith

See more book details

Orion Children's Books

9781444015621
208
Synopsis

A magical story about following your dreams - perfect for fans of Holly Webb.

Pink-haired Finch Field has always felt different. She dreams of flying - not in a plane, but swimming through the sky like a bird. Her classmates laugh, and call her Dream Bird. But when Finch goes to stay with her beloved Granny Field for the summer, she finds herself face-to-face with a monster intent on stealing people's dreams. Finch must find a way to believe her own dreams can come true if she is to save the dreams of everyone in Sunview on Sea.

A story full of magic, fantasy and friendship, perfect for younger readers of Jacqueline Wilson and Holly Webb.

In the media

Scintillating ... a story that may seem light and breezy at first, but draws you in to an amazing magical plot that bites deep, particularly if you're like us - and a lot like Finch.
Utterly brilliant ... we'll be hunting out more from Maudie very soon.

ReadItDaddy Blog

A book all about the importance of dreams and being true to yourself, BIRD GIRL is an exciting and unexpected story! ... The relationship between Finch and her grandmother is beautifully portrayed - its warmth and energy are delightful. Finch shows great courage and determination when her friends are at risk and learns a lot about herself along the way. An enjoyable read aloud story, offering plenty to discuss.

North Somerset Teachers' Book Award