Back to Blackbrick

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

10-12 years

2014 Nominee

Calderdale Book of the Year

See more book details
16 January 2014
9781444007091
240 pages
Synopsis

The stunning debut novel from DUBRAYS No.1 Bestseller and SUNDAY TIMES Children's Book of the Week Winner Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. Partnered with ALZHEIMER'S RESEARCH this is a compassionate, humorous and moving story which tackles some big questions.

'The ghosts in your life don't ever really go away. Every so often they will whisper to you ...

Don't worry about it too much.'

When Cosmo keeps his promise to his granddad to go to Blackbrick, he finds himself in the forgotten corner of a distant past, one that his granddad has, strangely, never really talked about. Here friendships come to life, there are new beginnings, a lifetime of memories and everything is still possible...

An extraordinary debut novel with a fantastic voice perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

A tear-jerker with lessons in how to live life to the full.

Nicolette Jones, THE SUNDAY TIMES

one of Ireland's most interesting children's writers

IRISH INDEPENDENT

...a clever, engaging story of a teenager who finds an unexpected way to deal with the gradual disintegration of his grandfather's memories and personality.

Josh Lacey, THE GUARDIAN