Out on 07 July 2022

The Shark and the Scar

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

10-12 years
See more book details
07 July 2022
9781510104167
320 pages
Synopsis

What if the most interesting thing about you wasn't true after all? A compelling mystery about family secrets, identity and the father-son relationship for readers aged 10+. For fans of Jenny Valentine, Siobhan Dowd and Lara Williamson.

Thirteen-year-old Jay survived a shark attack. He has a big scar on his body, and he doesn't remember exactly what happened. Sadly, his estranged mum didn't survive the horrific accident, and Jay and his dad have moved to the west coast of Ireland, where he surfs and keeps his past a secret. He's not allowed a phone, and they don't have the internet at home.

But when he and his friend Jess do some research for her family's surfing school, he discovers something that makes him sure his dad has been lying. Suddenly Jay doesn't recognise the dad he's trusted all his life. What really happened on the terrible day he can't remember? What actually happened to his mum? And does he even want to know?