The Twistrose Key

Tone Almhjell

Jan Schoenherr
See more book details

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

9780349001678
368
Synopsis

Something is wrong in the house that Lin's family has rented; Lin is sure of it. The clocks tick too slowly. Frost covers the flower bed, even in a rain storm. And when a secret key marked 'Twistrose' arrives for her, Lin finds a crack in the cellar, a gate to the world of Sylver.

This frozen realm is the home of every dead animal who ever loved a child. Lin is overjoyed to be reunited with Rufus, the pet she buried under the rosebush. But together they must find the missing Winter Prince that night in order to save Sylver from destruction.

They are not the only ones hunting for the boy. In the dark hides a shadow-lipped man, waiting for this last Winter Prince to be delivered into his hands.

Exhilarating suspense and unforgettable characters awaits the readers of this magical adventure, destined to become a classic.

In the media
A wintry epic of secret doors, magic keys and frozen souls, best enjoyed by a roaring fire with a large plate of waffles. The kind of book every child wants to get at Christmas.

Piers Torday, Author of The Last Wild

This book is pure magic. I want to live in it.

Laini Taylor, author of The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy

a brilliant mix of legend, childhood games... conspiracy, emotion and dangerous adventure, with wonderful illustrations throughout

Juno

The Twistrose Key is a charming adventure story in the tradition of C S Lewis and Brian Jacques. This is a good, old-fashioned quest of a story and would make a lovely winter read to snuggle up with on a cold, dark night.

We Love This Book