Desi Girl Speaking

A. S. Hussain

Age 14 +
09 May 2024
9781471413490
400 pages

Synopsis

Tweety is struggling.

Battling depression and faced with parents and friends who don't fully understand what's happening, sixteen-year-old Tweety feels like no one is listening and there's nowhere to turn to. Until she stumbles across Desi Girl Speaking, a podcast by someone else who's struggling too.

Through episodes and exchanged emails, Tweety and Desi Girl begin to confide in each other, but as Tweety's depression deepens, she'll have to decide whether to stay silenced or use her voice to speak up.

A powerful and compassionate novel about mental health and hope, for readers of Yasmin Rahman, Muhammad Khan and Danielle Jawando.

(TRIGGER WARNING: this book explores mental health, including discussion of depression, suicide and self-harm.)