Out on 20 June 2024

A Lesson in Dying

Ann Cleeves

20 June 2024
240 pages


Ann Cleeves Classic Crime - engaging mysteries to savour, beloved characters to meet again.

A Lesson in Dying is the first mystery novel in the Inspector Ramsay series by Ann Cleeves, author of the Shetland and Vera Stanhope crime series.

Who hung the headmaster in the playground on the night of the school Halloween Party?

Almost everyone in Heppleburn either hated or feared the viper-tongued Harold Medburn. Inspector Ramsay is convinced it was the headmaster’s enigmatic wife but Jack Robson, school governor and caretaker, is determined to prove her innocence.

With the help of his restless daughter Patty, Jack digs into the secrets of Heppleburn, and uncovers a cesspit of lies, adultery, blackmail and madness . . .

A fine debut
A quietly entertaining mystery
Cleeves is quietly carving out a reputation as the new Queen of Crime