Available for pre-order

Blood of an Exile

Brian Naslund

See more book details

Tor

9781529016123
416
Synopsis

The first book in the Dragons of Terra series, Blood of an Exile features a life-changing mission for a death-defying adventurer . . . Welcome to Brian Naslund's spectacular, action-packed fantasy debut.

Sentenced to die. Impossible to kill.

Bershad was supposed to die. When he was caught attempting to assassinate a fellow noble, he was given the harshest sentence: a command to slay dragons, so his death might serve the kingdom. Yet for some reason he never lost a fight and is now the most successful dragon-slayer in history. However, as a doomed man Bershad is still shunned by his peers and his countrymen. But that could all change.

The king who sentenced Bershad has just given him a way out: kill a foreign monarch and walk free forever. His problem is that Bershad couldn’t care less about the fates of kingdoms – until the dragon-slayer discovers he could save an innocent child in the process.

His mission might also save every creature in Terra.

In the media
I had a great time with Blood of an Exile – it’s a fast, fun fantasy full of dragons and traitors, humor and bloody action. Fans of Joe Abercrombie’s First Law or Michael Sullivan’s Riyria Revelations will love Brian Naslund’s debut

Django Wexler

Naslund succeeds in creating a page-turning, edge-of-your-seat read that breathes new (fiery) life into dragon mythology. Top-notch adventure fantasy – a stand-up-and-applaud debut

Kirkus Reviews

Naslund’s debut wraps action, a mystery, and the environment into an impressively tight knot of classic fantasy

Publishers Weekly

Blood of an Exile promises to be a well-done epic fantasy, complete with heroic battles, death-defying acts, and the continuation of a misunderstood hero’s story

Reviews & Robots