The Nursemaid's Journey

Sheila Newberry

11 May 2023
9781785765407
400 pages

Synopsis

Previously published as Molly Sparkes and in ebook as Mollly's Journey

For fans of Katie Flynn, The Nursemaid's Journey is an uplifting novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of The East End Nurse, Sheila Newberry.

1906

A high-spirited, unconventional girl who can turn her hand to anything, Molly Sparkes is on the verge of a big adventure. At just eighteen, she is leaving her convent school in the heart of rural Kent to accompany the formidable Mrs Alexa Nagel on a tour of Australia, acting as her companion and nursemaid to Alexa's motherless granddaughter, Fay.

After a long voyage at sea, they finally arrive In New South Wales. Living in rural Australia and far away from everything she knows, Molly is forced to do some rapid growing up. Fascinated by a cool, laconic stockman, Molly is heartbroken when he tells her he is about to return to his native Denmark. Desperate to forget him, she turns her attentions to Rory Kelly, a circus acrobat. Will Molly flout convention and be tempted by the romance of a circus life? And what does the future hold for the irrepressible Molly Sparkes?

'Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen. You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel' - Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family

'I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels. I love their wonderful warmth and charm.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool