Magical Middle Grade

Looking for the best reads for 9-12 year olds? Look no further. These six titles will take you on journeys filled with magic, animals, superpowers and tons of adventure. 

15/06/2018
1 minutes to read
A collage of the following jacket covers: When the mountains roared, The wizards of once, Nevermoor, Iguana Boy, Emily Windsnap and Team Hero


Nevermoor

by

jacket not available

The Wizards of Once

by

jacket not available

Iguana Boy Saves the World With a Triple Cheese Pizza

by James Bishop

Book cover for Iguana Boy Saves the World With a Triple Cheese Pizza

One boy. One disappointing superpower. Can Dylan tame a bunch of hyper iguanas and come up with a masterful plan to save the WORLD? Yeah, probably ... but he's going to need a MASSIVE cheese pizza. Perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Future Ratboy and My Brother is a Superhero.

Dylan has wanted a superpower for as long as he can remember, especially since his brother and sister have got really cool ones.

But when his wish finally comes true, Dylan is MIGHTILY disappointed. For Dylan has become ... Iguana Boy. He can talk to Iguanas ... RUBBISH!

And when supervillain Celina Shufflebottom kidnaps all the superheroes in London, Dylan must work out how to use his new team of chatty iguanas to save the day. He's going to have to think outside the box, (the pizza box), if he's going to become the hero he's always dreamed of.

If he's going to make Iguana Boy cool.

'HILARIOUS and so silly - superheroes, reptiles and pizza ... AWESOME, why didn't I think of that?!' Tom Fletcher

Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island

by Liz Kessler

Book cover for Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island

Meet Emily Windsnap! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and new heights of adventure, a must-read for girls aged 8-12.

Emily Windsnap, an ordinary girl on land and a magical mermaid in water, is overdue a break from excitement - as her exhausted best friend Shona keeps reminding her! So, promising Shona she'll stay free of trouble and just 'swill out' ('chill out' for mermaids), Emily invites her best friend and her boyfriend Aaron along for a relaxing family holiday in the sun . . . But it seems adventure is hot on her heels - and her tail.

Soon, Emily discovers a hidden world beyond the falls of mysterious Forgotten Island - but it's not quite the paradise it seems. With a curse hanging over the island and a catastrophic disaster looming, Emily finds herself suddenly entangled in an ancient Prophecy. She must embark on a dangerous mission to seek the legendary giant the islanders believe will save them all, before it's too late.

But how can Emily save the day when rifts are forming between her and the very people she needs by her side? Must promises always be kept? And what happens when they are broken?

The brand new, eagerly awaited seventh book in the five-million-copy-selling Emily Windsnap series by Liz Kessler.

Battle for the Shadow Sword

by Adam Blade

jacket not available

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations.

Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...

There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!
Battle for the Shadow Sword; Attack of the Bat Army; Reptile Reawakened; and The Skeleton Warrior

And don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

When the Mountains Roared

by Jess Butterworth

Book cover for When the Mountains Roared

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.

I thought we'd live here forever ... but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too.

When Ruby's dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home - not without her mum there.

Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up.

But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them - if she can only overcome her fears...