Looking for the best reads for 9-12 year olds? Look no further. These six titles will take you on journeys filled with magic, animals, superpowers and tons of adventure. 

Book cover for Nevermoor: Nevermoor

Nevermoor: Nevermoor

Book cover for The Wizards of Once

The Wizards of Once

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth ...

Book cover for Iguana Boy Saves the World With a Triple Cheese Pizza

Iguana Boy Saves the World With a Triple Cheese Pizza

One boy. One disappointing superpower. Can Dylan tame a bunch of hyper iguanas and come up with a masterful plan to save the WORLD? Yeah, probably ... but he's going to need a MASSIVE cheese pizza. Perfect for fans of Tom Gates, Future Ratboy and My Brother ...

Book cover for Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island

Emily Windsnap and the Falls of Forgotten Island

Meet Emily Windsnap! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and new heights of adventure, a must-read for girls aged 8-12. Emily Windsnap, an ordinary girl on land and a magical mermaid in water, is overdue a break from excitement - a...

Book cover for Team Hero: Battle for the Shadow Sword

Team Hero: Battle for the Shadow Sword

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lesso...

Book cover for When the Mountains Roared

When the Mountains Roared

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.I thought we'd live here forever ... but then, I thought Mum would be...