When did you start writing and why?
I started writing fiction when I was about nine or ten-years-old. I wrote imitations (fan-fiction I think it’s called these days) based on Captain W.E. Johns’ Biggles books.

Are there any other authors who you think have influenced your style?
I don’t think I’m influenced by others, but I’m inspired by good writers to try harder. The American thriller writer, Nelson Demille writes brilliant dialogue. Closer to home, Margie Orford nails characterisation every time and no one captured Africa better than the late, great John Gordon-Davis, my literary hero.

What is your writing process? Same time every day? Only when inspired? What does your writing day look like?
Writing at least one book a year (I did two this year, including Captive which came out in April), I have to be disciplined. I write four pages a day, ideally after a morning game drive in the bush. The sooner I finish the sooner I can get to a swimming pool or sundowners.

Your books are very well researched- do you do all the research yourself?
Yes and no. I write my story first then fill in the research gaps later. I find the best way to research is to find people who are experts in the field I need to write about. People are incredibly giving – for Scent of Fear, I spent time with a real life anti-poaching tracker dog team in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve and they could not have been more helpful.

Who are your favourite authors?
James A. Michener, Deon Meyer, John Gordon-Davis, Margie Orford, Nelson Demille, Martin Cruz Smith. I’m really looking forward to reading more from South Africa’s Sifiso Mzobe, an up-and-coming genius.

You have very strong women characters, do you have women 'influencers'?
Plenty! My wife, mother, mother-in-law, a couple of good female friends and my female publisher and editor are the first people to read my new manuscript. All of them are incredibly strong people in their own right and as a team of editors they’re quick to point out if I’ve got something wrong! One thing that impresses me in pretty well every culture I’ve come across in Africa is that women, while they often face challenges and discrimination, are the real strength behind pretty well any community.

What is the best advice you could give to aspiring writers?
Like the shoe company says, Just Do It. Plenty of people will give you plenty of reasons not to write, but you know that if the words are in your heart you have to set them free.

Book cover for An Empty Coast

An Empty Coast

'A fun international adventure that will appeal to fans of Clive Cussler and Taylor Stevens' BooklistA body. A cover up. A buried secret.A father who will do anything to solve the mystery of his son's disappearance.A mother ...

Book cover for Captive

Captive

Captive by Tony Park, the author of Red Earth and The Cull, is a action-packed thriller that will engross fans of Clive Cussler, Scott Mariani and Andy McDermott.As a soldier turned wildlife veterinarian, Dr Graham Baird is no stranger to the dangers of the Afr...

Book cover for The Cull

The Cull

'No modern author writes with as much knowledge, conviction and love of the Southern Africa of today as Aussie veteran army officer Tony Park' Crime ReviewThe war to save Africa’s wildlife is fought on many fronts.For former mercenary Sonja Kurtz the opp...

Book cover for Red Earth

Red Earth

Red Earth by Tony Park, the author of An Empty Coast, is a full-throttle international thriller that will engross fans of Clive Cussler.On the run, with everything to lose . . .On the outskirts of Durban, Suzanne Fessey fight...

Book cover for Red Earth

Red Earth

On the outskirts of Durban, a car is hijacked. The Suzanne Fessey fights back and kills one thief but the other, wounded, escapes with her baby strapped into the back seat. Called in to pursue the missing vehicle are helicopter tracker pilot Nia Carras, and wildlife researcher Mike Dunn, the only ma...

Book cover for An Empty Coast

An Empty Coast

A body. A cover up. A buried secret. Sonja Kurtz – former soldier, supposedly retired mercenary - is in Vietnam carrying out a personal revenge mission when her daughter sends a call for help.

Book cover for The Cull

The Cull

Former mercenary Sonja Kurtz is hired by business tycoon Julianne Clyde-Smith to head an elite squad. Their aim: to take down Africa’s top poaching kingpins and stop at nothing to save its endangered wildlife.

Book cover for An Empty Coast

An Empty Coast

A body. A cover up. A buried secret. Sonja Kurtz is in Vietnam carrying out a personal revenge mission when her daughter sends a call for help. Emma is on a dig at the edge of Namibia’s Etosha National Park studying archaeology and she’s discovered a body that dates back to the country’s liberation ...

Book cover for Red Earth

Red Earth

An assassination, a stolen baby, a race to the death. On the outskirts of Durban, a car is hijacked. The owner, Suzanne Fessey, fights back and kills one thief but the other, wounded, escapes with her baby strapped into the back seat.

Book cover for Scent Of Fear

Scent Of Fear

Afghanistan veteran Sean Bourke's world explodes when an IED detonates in South Africa's Sabi Sand Game Reserve. On a routine anti-poaching patrol, Sean and his tracker dog Benny watch in horror as over-eager rookie Tumi Mabasa is almost killed, and her dog gravely injured, in the explosion.