The Guernsey Girls

Mary Wood

07 December 2023
384 pages


Friendship is found far from home. Set in the years before WW2 and travelling from London to the island of Guernsey, The Guernsey Girls is the first in a touching series from Mary Wood, author of The Jam Factory Girls.

'Wood is a born storyteller' – Lancashire Evening Post

January 1936.
After the hard work of being a maid at Wallington Manor in the lead-up to Christmas, Annie is thrilled at the prospect of going home to Bethnal Green. She has missed her family, but the money she earns keeps them all afloat.

Olivia is from the island of Guernsey and is visiting her aunt at Wallington Manor. When she has to leave for London, Annie is asked to look after her, and on the train journey a friendship blossoms.

A tragic accident sees their friendship become even stronger. A friendship that will see both girls through pain, happiness, marriage and death. A friendship that will see them both united in Guernsey.

And this is just the beginning of their incredible journey . . .

'A cosy fireside read' – Westmeath Examiner

Wood is a born storyteller
A cosy fireside read