All I want for Christmas is...BOOKS

Not sure what books to put under the tree this year? We've got you covered!

23/11/2018
3 minutes to read
A photo pf presents under the Christmas tree - All I want for Christmas in Books...

If you're looking for a laugh-out-loud, completely wacky story filled with cartoon-like illustrations look no further than the awesome Treehouse series by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton. For fans of How To Train Your Dragon, Cressida Cowell is back with a brand new fantasy adventure series called The Wizards of Once, enter a land of wizards, warriors and magical creatures with Wish, Zar and even a talking spoon.

The most anticipated sequel of the year has to be Wundersmith the second book in the Nevermoor series by Jessica Townsend. Exquisitely written and full of suspense, this series will fill you with wunder

For little picture book lovers you can't go wrong with Julia Donaldson. Animalphabet combines learning the alphabet with a fun guessing game and beautiful art created by Sharon King-Chai. Oscar the Hungry Unicorn has eaten everything, including his stable! Find out if this chubby little fellow can find a new home in a new picture book by Lou Carter and Nikki Dyson. Keep your little fairy princess entertained for hours with the Fairy Forest Pop-Up Carousel from Campbell books. With three beautiful scenes to flutter into and 23 play pieces we guarantee big smiles and busy hands on Christmas morning. 

Leigh Bardugo fans will be over the moon when they unwrap the gorgeous Six of Crows Collector's Edition. With sprayed edges and intricate designs this is the ultimate gift for YA-lovers. If spellbinding stories and imaginative characters are what you're looking for then Snowglobe by Amy Wilson is your perfect read this Christmas. Filled with fairy tale-like magic this book is the gift that keeps on giving.

All these perfect gift books are available in-store and online from your nearest book retailer. 


The 104-Storey Treehouse

by Andy Griffiths

Book cover for The 104-Storey Treehouse

The 104-Storey Treehouse is the eighth book of Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton's wacky treehouse adventures, where the laugh-out-loud story is told through a combination of text and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations.

Join Andy and Terry in their 104-storey spectacular treehouse (it used to be a 91-story treehouse, but they decided it was still missing a few things). They've added thirteen new levels, including a never-ending staircase, a burp bank, and even a mighty fortress. But Andy and Terry are in a race against time to find a funny story for their next book – and Andy had a toothache that hurts so bad he can't write any jokes for their new book. Will the tooth fairy be able to help?

But Terry knows just what to do: buy a Joke Writer 2000™ to write the jokes for them! All they need first is some money from their money-making machine and then it’s off to the store. It’s a foolproof plan—a Terry-proof one, even!

Well, what are you waiting for? Come on up!

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

by Lou Carter

jacket not available

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.

WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!

Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Snowglobe

by Amy Wilson

Book cover for Snowglobe

The beautifully spellbinding and critically-acclaimed story of a thousand magical worlds from the author of A Girl Called Owl and A Far Away Magic.

When daydreamer Clementine discovers a mysterious house standing in the middle of town that was never there before, she is pulled towards it by the powerful sense of a mother she never knew. The place is full of snowglobes, swirling with stars and snow and each containing a trapped magician, watched over by Gan, the bitter keeper of the house. One of these is Dylan, a boy who teases her in the real world but who is now desperate for her help.

So Clem ventures into the snowglobes, rescuing Dylan and discovering her own powerful connection to the magic of these thousand worlds. Vowing to release the magicians from the control of their enchantments, Clem unknowingly unleashes a struggle for power that will not only put her family, but the future of magic itself in danger.

'One of the most purely original and imaginative children’s books I have read this year' Piers Torday, author of The Lost Magician

'Amy Wilson is the rising star of children's fantasy' Telegraph Best Children's Books of the Year

'Beautiful prose, a wholly original premise and filled to the brim with fairytale magic. Perfect reading as the colder nights draw in' Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song


'A spellbinding adventure in a magical and darkly beautiful world . . . utterly captivating' Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

by Cressida Cowell

Book cover for The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites.

This was once the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who had been taught since birth to hate each other like poison.

But now, the boy Wizard and girl Warrior have been brought together in the Badwoods and they have witnessed the shocking consequences of the Stone That Takes Away Magic. They will need to cast aside their differences once more - for an Evil Spell has broken free.

It's up to Xar and Wish to find the ingredients. But it means entering the Druids Castle unannounced ...

Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...

Fairy Forest

by Ag Jatkowska

Book cover for Fairy Forest

Flutter into the secret world of fairies in this beautiful Fairy Forest pop-up carousel!

Fairies Pip, Blossom and Dewdrop are busy making gifts for Princess Flora’s birthday, but Bumble can’t think what to give. Press out the play pieces and join in all the fun with the three stunning pop-up play scenes illustrated by Ag Jatkowska. This magical pop-up storybook has a special envelope for safe storage of the 25 play pieces and a pretty ribbon closure.

Wundersmith

by Jessica Townsend

Book cover for Wundersmith

Morrigan Crow's adventures in the magical world of Nevermoor continue . . . a treat for all fans of magic and 'wunder'. A stunningly designed package - with silver foil, hidden artwork under the jacket and beautifully designed interiors.

'An extraordinary story full of magics great and small' Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE GIRL OF INK AND STARS

Imagination, discovery and friendship await Morrigan Crow when she escapes her deadly curse and joins the Wundrous Society. It promises her protection and belonging for life - but then Morrigan doesn't receive the welcome she hoped for...

Morrigan is a much-feared Wundersmith. So, instead of the Society helping Morrigan to embrace her power, she is only taught that all Wundersmiths are evil and she must suppress her mysterious ability at all costs.

To make things worse, Nevermoor is quickly turning from a place of safety into one of danger. Society members are going missing, someone is blackmailing Morrigan's new friends, turning them against her. And Ezra Squall, the evillest man who ever lived, is determined to lure Morrigan from the Society by promising to reveal the true nature of the Wunder that calls to her, which is becoming ever harder to resist...

Has Morrigan's dream of escaping her cursed life ended before it truly began?

Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

NEVERMOOR - WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE 2018 YOUNGER FICTION CATEGORY AND RED MAGAZINE'S BIG BOOK 'BEST CHILDREN'S BOOK (7-12)' AWARD

"Extraordinary world-building" Guardian

"Masterful storytelling, twisty plotting, a thrilling magical world and universally importsnt themes ... idefal reading for anyone who loves Harry Potter" Booktrust

"This has light and dark, twists, inventiveness and big themes of prejudice and resistance" The Sunday Times

"The perfect series for young Harry Potter fans" Irish Independent

"Townsend is a brilliantly suspenseful storyteller who never lets the pace slacken" The Daily Telegraph

Animalphabet

by

jacket not available

Six of Crows: Collector's Edition

by Leigh Bardugo

Book cover for Six of Crows: Collector's Edition

*The Grishaverse will be coming to Netflix soon with Shadow and Bone, an original series!*

A glorious Collector's Edition of New York Times bestselling, epic fantasy novel, SIX OF CROWS. Beautifully designed, with an exclusive letter from the author and six stunning full-colour character portraits. This covetable hardback with red sprayed edges is a perfect gift for fans, and a perfect way to discover the unforgettable writing of Leigh Bardugo.

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist: break into the Ice Court - a military stronghold that has never been breached - and retrieve a hostage whose knowledge could change Grisha magic forever. To succeed would mean riches beyond his wildest dreams - but he can't pull it off alone . . .

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Together they might just be unstoppable - if they don't kill each other first.

'Fast, thrilling heist fantasy, boasting a brilliant new cast of characters.' METRO

'A full-throttle adventure . . . crackling dialogue and sumptuous description. Bardugo dives deep into this world.' - NEW YORK TIMES