What to read this Spring

Spring has sprung and we're ready for some brand new YA! 

30/08/2019
1 minutes to read
Illustrations of pink, purple and red flowers with the caption: what to read this Spring

Get your picnic blanket, grab your hat and make sure you have this list of great reads ready for the longer, brighter days ahead. Whether you want to escape to a magical kingdom or read about freedom after living in a cult, these YA releases are sure to tug at your heartstrings, help you laugh out loud and let you travel to the most incredible real and imaginary destinations. 

Becoming Dinah

by Kit de Waal

jacket not available

"A gripping, heart-wrenching coming-of-age story" - Guardian

In her first YA novel, Costa-shortlisted Kit de Waal responds to classic Moby Dick by tearing the power away from obsessive Captain Ahab and giving it to a teenage girl.

Dinah's whole world is upside down, dead things and angry men and cuts all over her head that are beginning to sting....

Seventeen-year-old Dinah needs to leave her home, the weird commune where she grew up. She needs a whole new identity, starting with how she looks, starting with shaving off her hair, her 'crowning glory'. She has to do it quickly, because she has to go now.

Dinah was going to go alone and hitch a ride down south. Except, she ends up being persuaded to illegally drive a VW campervan for hundreds of miles, accompanied by a grumpy man with one leg. This wasn't the plan.

But while she's driving, Dinah will be forced to confront everything that led her here, everything that will finally show her which direction to turn...

In her first YA novel, Costa-shortlisted author Kit de Waal responds to the classic Moby Dick with entirely new characters, a VW campervan, and by tearing the power away from obsessive Captain Ahab and giving it to a teenage girl who's determined to find a new life, far away from her unconventional upbringing.

"An emotionally charged book" - Daily Mail

"Fresh and defiantly original ... what a beautiful book" - Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

"An emotional coming of age tale of escape, mission, and ultimately, self-knowledge" - The Big Issue

Rose, Interrupted

by Patrice Lawrence

Book cover for Rose, Interrupted

'Enthralling, resonant, unusual and thought-provoking' The Guardian
'Lawrence is a fine writer' TheTimes

'A vibrant, accomplished storyteller' The Observer
'
A truly brilliant book' Malorie Blackman on Orangeboy

Being a teenager is hard enough, but it's even harder in a world you've never known ...

Eighteen months ago, 17-year-old Rose and 13-year-old Rudder escaped a strict religious sect with their mum. They are still trying to make sense of the world outside - no more rules about clothes and books, films and music, no more technology bans. But also no more friendship with the people they've known all their lives, no community and no certainty. It doesn't help that their mum has to work all hours to pay rent on their cramped, smelly, one-bed flat above a kebab shop in Hackney.

While Rudder gorges on once-taboo Harry Potters and dances to Simon and Garfunkel and show tunes, Rose swaps the ankle skirts and uncut hair of the Woodford Pilgrims for Japanese-cute fairy dress and her new boyfriend, Kye. Kye, who she wants with all her being. But there's loads of scary stuff about their new life that Rose and Rudder have no idea how to handle - it's normal for girls to let their boyfriends take naked pictures of them, right?

When Rudder accidently sets a devastating chain of events into action, Rose must decide whether to sacrifice everything and go back to the life she hates, in order to save the people she loves.

A story about coming of age, slap-bang in the middle of a strange new world.

The Paper & Hearts Society

by Lucy Powrie

Book cover for The Paper & Hearts Society

The first Paper & Hearts Society adventure. Join Tabby and The Paper & Hearts society gang in this joyful comfort read and celebration of books from Booktuber Lucy Powrie - all about what happens when you let your weird out! The perfect book for fans of Alice Oseman, Holly Smale and Zoella.

Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in. She doesn't want to go to parties - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book.

It's like she hasn't found her people ...

Then Tabby joins a club that promises to celebrate books. What could go wrong? EVERYTHING - especially when making new friends brings out an AWKWARD BUZZING feeling all over her body.

But Olivia, Cassie, Henry and Ed have something that makes Tabby come back. Maybe it's the Austen-themed fancy-dress parties, or Ed's fluffy cat Mrs Simpkins, or could it be Henry himself ...

Can Tabby let her weird out AND live THE BEST BOOKISH LIFE POSSIBLE?

Queen of Ruin

by Tracy Banghart

Book cover for Queen of Ruin

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.

Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again.

Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.

Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

How To Be Luminous

by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Book cover for How To Be Luminous

How to be Luminous is a heart-wrenching story about the aftermath of tragedy and the power of self-belief and love. Harriet Reuter Hapgood's beautiful writing radiates with colour.

When seventeen-year-old Minnie Sloe's mother disappears, so does her ability to see colour. How can young artist Minnie create when all she sees is black-and-white? Will her mysterious ailment – and grief – stop her from following in her mother's footsteps and becoming a famous artist?

Middle child Minnie and her two sisters have always been able to get through anything together – growing up without fathers, living the eccentric artist lifestyle, and riding out their mother's mental highs and lows. But losing their mother irrevocably breaks them, and Minnie wonders if she could lose everything: her family, her future, her first love . . . and maybe even her mind.

The Kingdom

by Jess Rothenberg

Book cover for The Kingdom

Welcome to the Kingdom, a dazzling fantasy theme park where 'happily ever after' is not just a promise, but a rule . . .

It's a fairytale which ends in murder as the one of the 'Fantasists' goes renegade. Ana, a half-human, half-android princess, is tasked with entertaining visitors and making wishes come true but now she's on trial, after finding herself experiencing emotions and romantic feelings against all her programming.

Told through court testimony, interrogation records and fragmented flashbacks, Jess Rothenberg's The Kingdom has the futuristic appeal of Westworld and the twists and turns of a YA true-crime thriller.

'Disney on steroids . . . a surefire discussion starter about desire and power.' – Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Wilder Girls

by Rory Power

Book cover for Wilder Girls

'Your new favourite book' – Cosmopolitan

An instant New York Times bestseller, Wilder Girls is Rory Power's chilling and unputdownable YA debut.
The Power meets We Were Liars in this compelling story of survival and the power of female friendships, perfect for fans of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder.

Everyone loses something to the Tox; Hetty lost her eye, Reese's hand has changed, and Byatt just disappeared completely.

It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put in quarantine. The Tox turned the students strange and savage, the teachers died off one by one. Cut off from the mainland, the girls don’t dare wander past the school’s fence where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure as the Tox takes; their bodies becoming sick and foreign, things bursting out of them, bits missing.

But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her best friend, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie in the wilderness past the fence. As she digs deeper, she learns disturbing truths about her school and what else is living on Raxter Island. And that the cure might not be a cure at all . . .

'Wholly original and compelling' – Observer

'A staggering gut punch of a book' – Kirkus

'Body horror meets boarding school in a moving, terrifying thriller' Guardian