Is there a better way of escaping the real world than by losing yourself in a really good book? We haven't found one if so, but seeing as we're committed to bringing you the very best of thrills here on the Thin Blue Spine, we thought we'd share our list of must-read crime fiction books.

If you're looking for a true classic, we have a list of the best classic crime novels right here.




Book cover for The Favourite Sister

The Favourite Sister

From the author of the bestselling debut novel of 2015 Luckiest Girl Alive comes Jessica Knoll’s thriller, The Favourite Sister, featuring a pair of competitive and uber-successful sisters whose secrets and lies result in murder. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Nine P...

Book cover for Are You Sleeping

Are You Sleeping

'I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough . . . a terrific debut' – Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In. The only thing more dangerous than a lie . . . is the truth.When a family man is killed at point blank range in his home, it shakes a sleepy town t...

Book cover for Rattle

Rattle

The No.1 bestselling psychological thriller by Fiona Cummins.A serial killer to chill your bonesA psychopath more frightening than Hannibal Lecter.He has planned well. He leads two lives. In one he's just like anyone else. But in the other ...

Book cover for The Girlfriend

The Girlfriend

‘I was blown away. The Girlfriend is the most marvellous psychological thriller . . .’ - Jilly CooperThe Number One bestselling debut thriller from Michelle Frances.She loves your son. She wants your life. How far would you go to protect your son?...

Book cover for Fearless

Fearless

PLAY DIRTY. PLAY TO WIN.From the top ten bestselling author Jessie Keane comes a gripping thriller featuring two women who will do anything to win the man they love.Josh Flynn is the king of the bare-knuckle gypsy fighters. His reputation is un-blemished; his fist a de...

Book cover for The Other Woman

The Other Woman

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick. 'One of the most twisted and entertaining plots' –Reese WitherspoonThe Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones, is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances's T...

Book cover for Capture or Kill

Capture or Kill

For fans of Ant Middleton and the BBC's Bodyguard, read this gripping thriller from former MI5 operative, Tom Marcus. Author of the bestselling Soldier Spy.Matt Logan is an MI5 agent for the British government. Working on the frontline of counter-terrorism i...

Book cover for The Moonstone

The Moonstone

Designed to appeal to the booklover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautiful gift editions of much loved classic titles. Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure. One of the great Victorian novels, The Moonstone has engrossed, entertain...

Book cover for Little Deaths

Little Deaths

Haunting, intoxicating and heart-poundingly suspenseful, Little Deaths is a gripping novel about love, morality and obsession, exploring the capacity for good and evil within us all.It's the summer of 1965, and the streets of Queens, New York shimmer in a heatwave. One Ju...

Book cover for Dark Matter

Dark Matter

'Brilliant. . . I think Blake Crouch just invented something new.' - Lee Child, author of the Jack Reacher series.From Blake Crouch, the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy, Dark Matter is a brilliantly plotted tale that is at once sweeping and i...

Book cover for The Axeman's Jazz

The Axeman's Jazz

Winner of the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger for Best Debut Crime Novel of the Year.Shortlisted for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year Award.As recommended on the Radio 2 Arts Show with Claudia Winkleman.Inspired by a true story, set against ...

Book cover for The Trap

The Trap

The Trap by Melanie Raabe is set, and ready to spring.I know you killed my sister.I wrote this novel for you.Twelve years ago, Linda's sister Anna was murdered. Her killer was never caught, but Linda saw him. Now, all these years on, she's just seen ...