Are You Sleeping

Kathleen Barber

See more book details

Pan

9781509843008
384
Synopsis

'I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough . . . a terrific debut' - Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In.

The only thing more dangerous than a lie . . . is the truth.

When a family man is killed at point blank range in his home, it shakes a sleepy town to its core. The murder is a strange, horrifying crime but for the authorities it’s an open-and-shut case.

Ten years on, the victim’s daughter, Josie, has started afresh in New York – far from the tragic events that blew her family apart. No-one knows the truth about her previous life, not even her fiancé.

Investigative journalist Poppy is convinced the wrong man is in jail for the murder and she’s determined to prove it. What starts off as a true-crime podcast snowballs into a national phenomenon and everyone has an opinion on the case. Poppy’s relentless pursuit of the truth threatens to expose old secrets. Josie realizes that her father’s murder could have consequences more devastating than she had ever imagined.

Are You Sleeping is a gripping debut psychological thriller from Kathleen Barber for fans of Serial, Disclaimer and Luckiest Girl Alive. Oscar winner Octavia Spencer will be starring in the TV adaptation, produced by Reese Witherspoon.

In the media
Are You Sleeping will more than likely keep you up all night as this most compelling suspenseful novel unfolds. A classic whodunit gets a very clever modern treatment that left this reader’s heart racing right up to the last page.

Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait

I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough . . . a terrific debut

Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In

Tense, clever, addictive

Paula Daly, author of The Mistake I Made

An astute debut . . . turning our obsession with true crime inside out

Stylist

Blogs featuring Are You Sleeping

  1. Blog

    18 crime fiction books you should read

    04/05/2018