Here are just a few of our favourite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters, are written by LGBTQ+ authors or explore themes that have greatly affected LGBTQ+ communities.  Our selection encompasses everything from novels by writers as diverse as Virginia Woolf to Alan Hollinghurst, to popular science books on the AIDS epidemic and explorations of gay lives around the world


Here we’ve curated our edit of the very best fiction and non-fiction LGBTQ+ books.

Book cover for Orlando

Orlando

One of BBC's 100 Novels That Shaped Our World.Virginia Woolf’s wildly imaginative, comic novel was inspired by the life of her lover, Vita Sackville West. Part of the Macmillan Collector’s Library; a series of stunning, clothbound, pocket sized classics with gold foiled e...

Book cover for What Belongs to You

What Belongs to You

Winner of the Debut of the Year Award at the British Book Awards.Shortlisted for the James Tait Black Prize.On an unseasonably warm autumn day, an American teacher enters a public bathroom beneath Sofia's National Palace of Culture. There he meets Mitko,...

Book cover for Trumpet

Trumpet

With an introduction by Ali Smith.When the love of your life dies, the problem is not that some part of you dies too, which it does, but that some part of you is still alive. The death of legendary jazz trumpeter Joss Moody exposes an extraordinary secret. Unbeknown to...

Book cover for The Line of Beauty

The Line of Beauty

With an introduction by Sebastian FaulksWinner of the Man Booker Prize, The Line of Beauty is a classic novel about class, politics and sexuality in Margaret Thatcher's 1980s Britain.There was the soft glare of the flash – twice – three times – a gleaming...

Book cover for The Dark Light

The Dark Light

'Ten minutes to midnight!' Jonathan shouts over the sound of the blazing fire. Sparks rise into the sky and mingle with the stars. 'Only ten minutes!' Bevins says, falling down on his knees. 'So it begins.' Rebekah has lived on the island her whole life, and ...

Book cover for Boy Meets Hamster

Boy Meets Hamster

Fourteen-year-old Dylan Kershaw's idea of a dream holiday includes at least three things: beaches to bask on, cosmopolitan culture, and a chance for romance (or at least his first kiss) with another boy. Unluckily for Dylan, his mum's treating the family to the least dreamy holiday ever: ...

Book cover for How to Survive a Plague

How to Survive a Plague

Winner of the Baillie Gifford Prize for Non-FictionWinner of The Green Carnation Prize for LGBTQ literatureWinner of the Lambda Literary Award for LGBT non-fictionShortlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2017How to Survive a P...

Book cover for What's Up With Jody Barton?

What's Up With Jody Barton?

If you write a review of this book, please don't give away Jody's secret! It's hard enough being one half of the world's least identical twins, without both of you falling for the same guy. Jolene's turned flirting into a fine art, but Jody? Not so much. And as i...

Book cover for Queer Intentions

Queer Intentions

‘Eloquent, empathetic and passionate, this book will not just resonate with a new generation of queer people, but with all those who seek to be their allies. A brilliant book.’ Owen JonesToday, the options and freedoms on offer to LGBTQ+ people living in the West are greater ...

Book cover for Me

Me

'The rock memoir of the decade' Daily Mail'The rock star's gloriously entertaining and candid memoir is a gift to the reader' Sunday TimesIn his first and only official autobiography, music icon Elton John reveals the truth ...

Book cover for Wayward Son

Wayward Son

Wayward Son is the stunning YA novel by the bestselling author of Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell. With all of her signature wit and heart, and gorgeous chapter head illustrations, this is Rainbow at her absolute best.The story is supposed to...

Book cover for Paul Takes the Form of A Mortal Girl

Paul Takes the Form of A Mortal Girl

'One of the most exciting - and one of the most fun - novels of the decade.' - Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to YouIt’s 1993 and Paul Polydoris tends bar at the only gay club in a university town thrumming with politics and partying. He studies queer theory,...

Book cover for The Animals at Lockwood Manor

The Animals at Lockwood Manor

Some secrets are unspoken. Others are unspeakable . . . August 1939. Thirty-year-old Hetty Cartwright is tasked with the evacuation and safekeeping of the natural history museum’s collection of mammals. Once she and her exhibits arrive at Lockwood Manor, however, where they...

Book cover for The Mercies

The Mercies

The Sunday Times Bestseller and BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2020For readers of Circe and The Handmaid’s Tale, Kiran Millwood Hargrave's The Mercies is a story about a love that could prove as dangerous as it is powerful.Winter, 1617. The ...

Book cover for Cleanness

Cleanness

‘This is an exceptional work of fiction, which places Greenwell among the very best contemporary novelists.’ – IndependentSofia, Bulgaria, a landlocked city in southern Europe, stirs with hope and impending upheaval. Soviet buildings crumble, wind scatters s...