Station Eleven

Emily St. John Mandel

2015 Nominee

British Fantasy Award Best Horror Novel

2015 Winner

The Arthur C. Clarke Award

See more book details
17 February 2022
9781529083415
352 pages
Synopsis

Celebrating Fifty Years of Picador Books

Now an HBO Max original TV series

What was lost in the collapse: almost everything, almost everyone, but there is still such beauty.

One snowy night in Toronto famous actor Arthur Leander dies on stage whilst performing the role of a lifetime. That same evening a deadly virus touches down in North America. The world will never be the same again.

Twenty years later Kirsten, an actress in the Travelling Symphony, performs Shakespeare in the settlements that have grown up since the collapse. But then her newly hopeful world is threatened.

If civilization was lost, what would you preserve? And how far would you go to protect it?

The New York Times Bestseller
Winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award
Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction

National Book Awards Finalist
PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist

Part of the Picador Collection, a series showcasing the best of modern literature.

Mandel’s beautiful depiction of the survival of human culture and art in a post-apocalyptic world, Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale.

Cosmopolitan

The Handmaid’s Tale isn’t the only one out there to examine life in a dystopia or collapsing society, or examine the challenges women face when confronting an authoritative power.

The Verge

A dystopian novel that every woman should read after The Handmaid’s Tale.

Refinery29.com