YA for when you need a holiday

Too broke to go on holiday? Take a break with some of our latest YA and discover the world from the comfort of your couch. Whether it's colourful Taiwan or cosy Cornwall that you're after we've got just the thing.  No luggage necessary, but we do recommend a good cup of coffee. Ready? Let's go!

13/08/2018
1 minutes to read
Grab YA and go on holiday. reading is the ultimate getaway. Featuring 4 travel images, a beach scene, coffee cup and book, street scene and a far eastern temple


Girls Can Vlog: Festival Frenzy

by Emma Moss

Book cover for Girls Can Vlog: Festival Frenzy

School's out and glamping is go!

The Girls Can Vlog gang is going on tour once more in Girls Can Vlog: Festival Frenzy, a summer special from author Emma Moss.

When Lucy's parents plan a camping trip, Lucy manages to convince them to let her bring the rest of the gang along to attend Chesterbury Music Festival. It looks set to be a summer they will never forget!

Discover more of the Girls Can Vlog adventures in Lucy Locket: Online Disaster, Amazing Abby: Drama Queen, Hashtag Hermione: Wipeout, and Jazzy Jessie: Going for Gold

The Summer of Us

by Cecilia Vinesse

jacket not available

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.

Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .

There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.

Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

Boy Meets Hamster

by Birdie Milano

Book cover for Boy Meets Hamster

Fourteen-year-old Dylan Kershaw's idea of a dream holiday includes at least three things: beaches to bask on, cosmopolitan culture, and a chance for romance (or at least his first kiss) with another boy. Unluckily for Dylan, his mum's treating the family to the least dreamy holiday ever: a £9.50 break at Starcross Sands, Cornwall's Crummiest Caravan Park.

But Starcross Sands might not be so bad after all, especially if Dylan can win the heart of Jayden-Lee, the gorgeous boy in the caravan next-door. There's only one thing standing in true love’s way: the park's massive hamster mascot, Nibbles, who seems to have it in for both Dylan and his romantic chances. Dylan’s best friend, Kayla, claims that appearances can be deceptive: so is Jayden-Lee just as lovely beneath the surface, and what could be lurking under Nibbles' furry face?

Boy Meets Hamster is the laugh-out-loud funny debut novel from Birdie Milano.

The Astonishing Colour of After

by Emily X.R. Pan

Book cover for The Astonishing Colour of After

A New York Times bestseller.

'This brilliantly crafted novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - JOHN GREEN, author of The Fault in Our Stars

Life, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother dies by suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time.

Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life.

Overwhelmed by grief, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.

With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Seven Days of You

by Cecilia Vinesse

Book cover for Seven Days of You

It's Sophia's last week in Tokyo, and she's going to make it count...

Sophia has spent her life ping-ponging between different countries and schools, so, in theory, saying goodbye should be easy. But now she's leaving Tokyo - the place that finally felt like home. The only way she can get through this is to make her final week perfect.

Then Jamie Foster-Collins shows up, just in time to ruin everything. Jamie and Sophia used to be friends . . . and his return stirs up feelings she thought she'd forgotten.

Suddenly, hours and minutes become meaningless. Only time spent together, exploring the hidden streets of the city they love, is real.