YA to keep the cold away

Get a cup of hot chocolate, put on your favourite wooly socks and grab a copy of our latest YA releases!

12/07/2019
1 minutes to read
Cozy YA.png


This winter we've got some incredible debuts and some fantastic new releases from old favourites to keep you enthralled and entertained on those days when it's just too difficult to leave your duvet.  

Meat Market

by Juno Dawson

Book cover for Meat Market

Fall into the lives of the city's filthy rich with Juno Dawson's deliciously dark and intoxicating London Collection.

WINNER OF THE YA BOOK PRIZE 2020

Jana Novak's history sounds like a classic model cliché: tall and gangly, she's uncomfortable with her androgynous looks until she's unexpectedly scouted and catapulted to superstardom...

But the fashion industry is as grimy as it is glamorous. And there are unexpected predators at every turn.

Jana is an ordinary girl from a south London estate, lifted to unimaginable heights. But the further you rise, the more devastating your fall ...

Honest and raw, this is a timely exposé of the dark underbelly of the fashion industry in an era of #TimesUp and #MeToo. It might just be Juno Dawson's most important book yet.

'Juno Dawson slashes through the glamour of the fashion industry ... combining blockbuster appeal with piercing commentary on modelling, body image and consent' Observer

'Guaranteed to be your summer read' Glamour

Becoming Dinah

by Kit de Waal

jacket not available

"A gripping, heart-wrenching coming-of-age story" - Guardian

In her first YA novel, Costa-shortlisted Kit de Waal responds to classic Moby Dick by tearing the power away from obsessive Captain Ahab and giving it to a teenage girl.

Dinah's whole world is upside down, dead things and angry men and cuts all over her head that are beginning to sting....

Seventeen-year-old Dinah needs to leave her home, the weird commune where she grew up. She needs a whole new identity, starting with how she looks, starting with shaving off her hair, her 'crowning glory'. She has to do it quickly, because she has to go now.

Dinah was going to go alone and hitch a ride down south. Except, she ends up being persuaded to illegally drive a VW campervan for hundreds of miles, accompanied by a grumpy man with one leg. This wasn't the plan.

But while she's driving, Dinah will be forced to confront everything that led her here, everything that will finally show her which direction to turn...

In her first YA novel, Costa-shortlisted author Kit de Waal responds to the classic Moby Dick with entirely new characters, a VW campervan, and by tearing the power away from obsessive Captain Ahab and giving it to a teenage girl who's determined to find a new life, far away from her unconventional upbringing.

"An emotionally charged book" - Daily Mail

"Fresh and defiantly original ... what a beautiful book" - Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

"An emotional coming of age tale of escape, mission, and ultimately, self-knowledge" - The Big Issue

The Paper & Hearts Society

by Lucy Powrie

Book cover for The Paper & Hearts Society

The first Paper & Hearts Society adventure. Join Tabby and The Paper & Hearts society gang in this joyful comfort read and celebration of books from Booktuber Lucy Powrie - all about what happens when you let your weird out! The perfect book for fans of Alice Oseman, Holly Smale and Zoella.

Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in. She doesn't want to go to parties - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book.

It's like she hasn't found her people ...

Then Tabby joins a club that promises to celebrate books. What could go wrong? EVERYTHING - especially when making new friends brings out an AWKWARD BUZZING feeling all over her body.

But Olivia, Cassie, Henry and Ed have something that makes Tabby come back. Maybe it's the Austen-themed fancy-dress parties, or Ed's fluffy cat Mrs Simpkins, or could it be Henry himself ...

Can Tabby let her weird out AND live THE BEST BOOKISH LIFE POSSIBLE?

Lady Smoke

by

jacket not available

How To Be Luminous

by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Book cover for How To Be Luminous

How to be Luminous is a heart-wrenching story about the aftermath of tragedy and the power of self-belief and love. Harriet Reuter Hapgood's beautiful writing radiates with colour.

When seventeen-year-old Minnie Sloe's mother disappears, so does her ability to see colour. How can young artist Minnie create when all she sees is black-and-white? Will her mysterious ailment – and grief – stop her from following in her mother's footsteps and becoming a famous artist?

Middle child Minnie and her two sisters have always been able to get through anything together – growing up without fathers, living the eccentric artist lifestyle, and riding out their mother's mental highs and lows. But losing their mother irrevocably breaks them, and Minnie wonders if she could lose everything: her family, her future, her first love . . . and maybe even her mind.

Wilder Girls

by

jacket not available