Hare House

Sally Hinchcliffe

See more book details
06 January 2022
9781529061642
320 pages
Synopsis

'Deliciously chilly' Guardian
'Humming with suppressed hysteria and madness' The Times
'Wonderfully evocative' Heat

Hare House is not its real name, of course. I have, if you will forgive me, kept names to a minimum here, for reasons that will become understandable . . .


In the first brisk days of autumn, a woman arrives in Scotland having left her job at an all-girls school in London in mysterious circumstances. Moving into a cottage on the remote estate of Hare House, she begins to explore her new home – a patchwork of hills, moorland and forest. But among the tiny roads, dykes and scattered houses, something more sinister lurks: local tales of witchcraft, clay figures and young men sent mad.

Striking up a friendship with her landlord, Grant, and his younger sister, Cass, she begins to suspect that all might not be quite as it seems at Hare House. And as autumn turns to winter, and a heavy snowfall traps the inhabitants of the estate within its walls, tensions rise to fever pitch.

Sally Hinchcliffe’s Hare House is a modern-day witch story, perfect for fans of Pine and The Loney.

'A beautiful, slow burn of a novel, eerie and shimmering in equal measure' - Mary Paulson-Ellis

A beautiful, slow burn of a novel, eerie and shimmering in equal measure. The bewitching prose brilliantly evokes the bleak glories of a remote Scottish landscape, while the subtle shifts of plot and perspective lure the reader towards an unsettling denouement where nothing is quite what it seems. A dark uncanny read and all the more satisfying for that

Mary Paulson-Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker and Emily Noble's Disgrace

Eerie and subtle . . . This deliciously chilly tale dodges the expected outcome and maintains a delicate balance between psychology and witchcraft right to its disturbing end

Guardian

A tale humming with suppressed hysteria and madness

The Saturday Times